In response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, this year's Collegiate Inventors Competition® (CIC) will be held virtually. Please contact [email protected] with any questions.


The Collegiate Inventors Competition Judging Process

Find out how we determine the winners.

Judging is completed in two rounds

Round 1

Each Collegiate Inventors Competition® (CIC) entry is reviewed by our initial judging panel made up of scientists, researchers and experts in a variety of fields.

The Judges’ collective scores and rankings, along with data collected by independent researchers, are used by the National Inventors Hall of Fame® (NIHF) to determine the Finalists. 

All Finalists are notified two months before the final judging round. 

Round 2

In October, Finalist teams meet virtually with our final judging panel to formally present the work they’ve done to bring their extraordinary inventions to life.

The final judging panel consists of NIHF Inductees and special guest Judges, which have included intellectual property experts from the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and Abbott Laboratories, among others.

Following the Finalists’ presentations, the Judges deliberate and select the winners in each category.

Enter the Competition

Entries for the 2021 Collegiate Inventors Competition are closed. Check back in the spring for information on the 2022 competition.